Choose a location

The Old Town Italy restaurant is at the heart of the store where friends, business colleagues, family and people passing through stop to take it all in. The restaurant is a show case of our values, service and belief in authentic Italian food. There is a constant flow in this area where you can grab a quick coffee or linger for a fresh breakfast, lunch or dinner. Here is where you truly experience the feeling of Old Town with a sense of returning to old school methods, artisanal cooking and good service.

The Old Town Italy cafe undertakes to serve the freshest premium-quality foods in as ethical a manner as possible. Our cafe also represents a movement back to “real food”.

Our menu is authentically Italian, yet flexible enough to stay up to date with the latest health trends and food movements. We focus on Italian products, but also source local products that align with our food philosophy. No GMO products are allowed in our store.

From authentic Italian dishes, to cuts from our butchery, grill section. fresh salads, to panini / piadina and hand-stretched Neapolitan pizza with real mozzarella.

Reviews (982)

3.2 out of 5.0
Based on the past 12 months
Food 3.1
Value 3.0
Service 3.4
Ambience 3.1
  • Walt S. Dined: 6 days ago
    1.3
    Food 2.0
    Value 1.0
    Service 1.0
    Ambience 1.0

    Reviewed on: Sun 30 Mar 25
    We went for lunch at Old Town Italy Menlyn Maine based on your Instagram page but was beyond disappointed. Our waiter was extremely unfriendly, spoke very softly and looked like she does not want to be there. Somewhere along the way we noticed that our waiter was gone. The food took more than an hour with no one asking us for more drinks. Only our first round order was taken, no one came to our table again. When another waiter brought our food, I asked if she was now our waiter. She said yes and left. Never again checked in on whether we require drinks or anything else. Only heard from her again when I had to ask for the bill. The food was very average and some dishes were very bland en required loads of salt. One of our guests ordered a Grogonzola and Pear salad, this salad was almost only lettuce/rocket and very little pears or Gorgonzola. Based on the food's pricing and the restaurant location we expected an culinary experience similar to what we always get at for example Forti's. This was a very disappointing experience and would not recommend any to visit this establishment.

    Old Town Italy - Menlyn Maine responded on Mon 31 Mar 25:
    Hello Walt, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We're genuinely sorry to hear that your visit to Old Town Italy at Menlyn Maine did not live up to your expectations. We take pride in our service and atmosphere, and it’s concerning to hear that we fell short during your lunch. The feedback on the food is also disappointing, as we aim to serve dishes full of flavour and authenticity. Your comments about the service and the quality of the food, including the Gorgonzola and Pear salad, are valuable and will be addressed with our team. We truly value your input and would appreciate the opportunity to make things right. We have escalated the matter to the relevant GM. May you have a good week, and we look forward to having you join us again real soon – take care Warm Regards

  • Tyrone P. Dined: 1 week ago
    2.8
    Food 2.0
    Value 3.0
    Service 5.0
    Ambience 1.0

    Reviewed on: Sun 23 Mar 25 (Guest left no comment)

    Old Town Italy - Menlyn Maine responded on Mon 24 Mar 25:
    Dear Tyrone, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us! We truly appreciate hearing from our guests, as it helps us to improve and enhance the experience we offer at Old Town Italy. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed our service. However, we’re genuinely sorry to learn that your experience didn't live up to what you had hoped, particularly regarding the atmosphere and the food. We strive to create a warm and inviting space where our guests can savour the best of what Italy has to offer, and it's disappointing to hear that we fell short during your visit. Please feel free to email us at customercare@lifeandbrand.co.za, should you wish to share more with us. May you have a good week, and we look forward to having you join us again real soon. Thank you once again for your time, and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you better in the future. Best regards,

  • Tanya N. Dined: 1 week ago
    5
    Food 5.0
    Value 5.0
    Service 5.0
    Ambience 5.0

    Reviewed on: Sun 23 Mar 25
    Delicious food and great service even though they were very busy.

    Old Town Italy - Menlyn Maine responded on Mon 24 Mar 25:
    Hi Tanya, Thank you so much for your fantastic review! We’re thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our delicious food and received great service, even during our busy times. Your kind words about our atmosphere and menu truly brightened our day! At Old Town Italy, we strive to create a memorable experience for each guest, and it’s wonderful to know that we succeeded during your visit. We can't wait to welcome you back for another delightful meal! Warm regards,

  • Thando Kimora Lee M. Dined: 2 weeks ago
    5
    Food 5.0
    Value 5.0
    Service 5.0
    Ambience 5.0

    Reviewed on: Sun 16 Mar 25
    I was there for a birthday party. Our Waiter was great!

    Old Town Italy - Menlyn Maine responded on Mon 17 Mar 25:
    Hi Thando, Thank you so much for your lovely review! We're absolutely thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the atmosphere and service at Old Town Italy during the birthday party. It sounds like it was a fantastic celebration, and we're glad our waiter made a positive impression! We pride ourselves on delivering exceptional food and creating memorable experiences for our guests. Your kind words motivate our team, and we can't wait to welcome you back for another delightful visit. Warm regards,

  • Ian B. Dined: 3 weeks ago
    2.3
    Food 3.0
    Value 2.0
    Service 2.0
    Ambience 2.0

    Reviewed on: Sat 15 Mar 25 (Guest left no comment)

    Old Town Italy - Menlyn Maine responded on Mon 17 Mar 25:
    Dear Ian, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to Old Town Italy. We genuinely appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. We're sorry to hear that we fell short of your expectations in terms of our menu, value, service, and atmosphere. Your comments are important to us, and we strive to create a memorable experience for all our guests. We would love the opportunity to address your concerns and improve our services. Please feel free to email us at customercare@lifeandbrand.co.za, should you wish to share more with us. May you have a good week, and we look forward to having you join us again real soon – take care Warm Regards

  • Sean F. Dined: 4 weeks ago
    1.8
    Food 1.0
    Value 2.0
    Service 3.0
    Ambience 1.0

    Reviewed on: Sat 08 Mar 25 (Guest left no comment)

    Old Town Italy - Menlyn Maine responded on Mon 10 Mar 25:
    Dear Sean, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We truly appreciate your feedback, and I'm sorry to hear that your visit did not meet your expectations. It’s important to us that every aspect of your experience, from our menu to our atmosphere, reflects the quality and warmth we strive to offer. We take your comments seriously and would like to understand more about your experience to ensure improvements can be made. Please feel free to email us at customercare@lifeandbrand.co.za, should you wish to share more with us. May you have a good week, and we look forward to having you join us again real soon – take care Warm Regards

  • Meghan T. Dined: 4 weeks ago
    2.8
    Food 2.0
    Value 2.0
    Service 4.0
    Ambience 3.0

    Reviewed on: Sat 08 Mar 25
    Our waiter was fantastic - very friendly and engaging. That said, the food was unfortunately not very good - a bit bland and uninspired. We also waited an hour for our appetizer- the restaurant was busy and the kitchen was incredibly backed up. And then to not have great food was disappointing. Unfortunately I don’t think we’ll be going back.

    Old Town Italy - Menlyn Maine responded on Mon 10 Mar 25:
    Dear Meghan, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We’re thrilled to hear that our waiter made a great impression with their friendly and engaging service! However, we truly apologise that the food did not meet your expectations and for the long wait for your appetizer. We understand how disappointing it can be when the experience doesn't live up to your hopes, especially when you were looking forward to enjoying a meal with us. That is not the standard we want to set for our brand. We have escalated the matter to the relevant GM. May you have a good week, and we look forward to having you join us again real soon – take care Warm Regards

  • Shaun Grant M. Dined: 4 weeks ago
    1
    Food 1.0
    Value 1.0
    Service 1.0
    Ambience 1.0

    Reviewed on: Sat 08 Mar 25
    Staff badly trained, drinks were late on every order. Food was also 2 hours late. Pizza was terrible

    Old Town Italy - Menlyn Maine responded on Mon 10 Mar 25:
    Dear Shaun, Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent visit to Old Town Italy. We're truly sorry to hear that your experience did not meet the standards we strive for. It’s disappointing to learn that our service fell short, and that there were delays with both the drinks and food, especially when it comes to our beloved pizza. We appreciate your concerns, We apologies for the disappointing experience. That is not the standard we want to set for our brand. We have escalated the matter to the relevant GM. May you have a good week, and we look forward to having you join us again real soon – take care Warm Regards

Show More

Book a table

Favourite

Opening Hours

  • Monday 08h00 - 22h00
  • Tuesday 08h00 - 22h00
  • Wednesday 08h00 - 22h00
  • Thursday 08h00 - 22h00
  • Friday 08h00 - 22h00
  • Saturday 08h00 - 22h00
  • Sunday 08h00 - 19h00